Skip to Content

Prohibited acts - R.I. Gen. Laws Ann. § 5-48.1-3

Link to the law
This will open in a new window

Rhode Island prohibits persons from knowingly and willfully soliciting, receiving, offering, or paying remuneration in return for a health care referral or for the purpose of purchasing, leasing, ordering, arranging, or recommending a health care good, facility, service or item. Persons that commit these prohibited acts are guilty of a misdemeanor that is punishable by a maximum $1,000 fine and/or 1 year imprisonment. Rhode Island establishes numerous exceptions to these prohibitions including discounts that are disclosed by the provider and accurately reflected in their costs or charges and payments from employers to employees for their services. 

Current as of June 2015