Skip to Content

Florida Statutes § 384.25

Link to the law
This will open in a new window

“Reporting of test results for sexually transmissible diseases required under the Control of Sexually Transmissible Disease Act”

Every health care provider and laboratory must report cases of sexually transmitted diseases to the Department of Health. Physicians and laboratories are required to report any newborn or infant up to 18 months old who has been exposed to HIV. After notification of the test subject and his or her consent, the Department of Health may notify school superintendent of students and school personnel whose HIV tests are positive.

Any person who violates this statute may be fined by the Department of Health up to $500 for each offense. The Department of Health must report each violation to the relevant licensing agency. 

Related laws:

Florida Statutes § 381.0031

Florida Statutes § 381.004

Florida Statutes § 400.506


Current as of June 2015